Featured post / Buaicphostáil

Barbara Marx Hubbard (6)



I am attuned to Usui Reiki levels 1-3 so I am a certified Reiki Master/Reiki Teacher. I don't have a practice though and usually just do it on myself when I am having difficulty going asleep and on rare occasion do it on someone else I know if they are willing and I think they could particularly do with some of it. I have also done it on a couple of my dogs over the years.

I am currently reading a book "Self-Healing with Reiki- How to Create Wholeness, Harmony & Balance for Body, Mind & Spirit" by Penelope Quest that came out in 2003 and I am learning a lot from it; so far about the history of Reiki and some of the nuances with it that I didn't know about. Getting attuned to be able to do Reiki is not like studying for a doctorate usually so there is a lot to learn if you want to be very knowledgeable about the practice. I posted a quote of Penelopes' from the book a couple of weeks ago and I will post up occasionally some other info or quotes from the book, as I have started to do with other books on spirituality I have been reading for a while now.

Penelope Quest

Anyway back to the 3 levels of Reiki. I didn't know that there is a deeper, original Japanese meaning to the levels and that they aren't just called level 1-3 in general. Here they are:

Level 1 / Sho-den / 'The Entrance'

Level 2 / Oku-den / 'The Deep Inside'

Level 3 / Shinpi-den / 'The Mystery' or 'Secret Teaching'.

Furthermore (although I already kind of knew this) Penelope says:

"The term Reiki Master was a rough translation of Sensei, meaning respected teacher. In reality, no one can 'master' Reiki, because it is a divine energy, so in essence being a 'Reiki Master' means following a spiritual path towards self-mastery; this can be a physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually demanding healing journey, although of course it can also be very rewarding."


No comments:

Post a Comment